ACH Lynn Payer Award

Payer Award Logo

The Payer Award is presented annually for outstanding contributions to literature on the theory, practice and teaching of effective healthcare communication and related skills.

Lynn Payer was a journalist and served as managing editor of Medical Encounter for over a decade. She was the author of the classic book Medicine and Culture and wrote hundreds of news stories and features during her career.

Nomination Deadline: April 30, 2024

Please send a nomination letter that clearly outlines why you believe the nominee should receive the award and attach a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae. You may send in your nominations for either one or both awards.
Criteria for Payer Award*
  • The awardee has written and/or developed: Scholarly reviews that synthesize or clarify healthcare communications theory.
  • Concepts or models that enhance health care communications and the patient-clinician relationship.
  • Applications of research or empirical theory to teaching and assessment methodologies to enhance health care communication and the patient-clinician relationship.
  • The annual awardee will be recognized at an ACH hosted research conference.
*Exclusion Criteria: A Payer award nominee whose written work has primarily been original contributions to the research literature may be considered for the Engel Award.
For Email Submission Info

Click on the toggle switch above to reveal the email address for your submission.

Cropped Photo of Orit Karnieli-Miller

2023 Payer Award

Congratulations to Orit Karnieli-Miller, PhD

Recipient of the 20th annual Lynn Payer Award For Outstanding Contributions to the Literature on Theory, Practice and Teaching of Effective Health Care Communication and Related Skills.

Previous Recipients: Payer Award

2023 – Orit Karnieli-Miller
2020 – Elaine Wittenberg
2019 – Evelyn van Weel-Baumgarten
2018 – Calvin Chou
2017 – Adriaan Visser
2016 – Fred Platt
2015 – Suzanne Kurtz
2015 – Juliet Draper
2015 – Jonathan Silverman
2014 – Tony Suchman
2013 – William T. Branch
2012 – Adina Kalet
2011 – Peter Tate
2011 – Peter Havelock
2011 – David Pendleton
2011 – Theo Schofield
2010 – Walter Baile
2009 – Anthony Back
2008 – Paul Haidet
2007 – Richard Frankel
2007 – Howard Beckman
2006 – Rita Charon
2005 – Ronald Epstein
2004 – Timothy Quill
2003 – Gregory Makoul
2002 – Dennis Novack